You Are Awesome!

They are totally awesome because they are perfect at __________.

They are awesome because they have their life all together.

They are awesome because they can do tricks on roller blades. (Seriously, shout out to the girl I am watching practice doing tricks as I write this because that is totally cool!)

They are awesome because ____________________(insert any other reason that makes someone awesome).

Do remember a time when you put someone on this pedestal because you thought they were totally, perfectly awesome? A time in you know, high school….or yesterday!?  While yes, all those statements may be true, and yes, of course everyone is awesome, turns out you are awesome too.

It’s crazy that it has taken me 20 years to realize how many people don’t recognize their unconditional awesomeness! As a person who believes there is an opportunity to learn something from everyone we encounter, I am constantly thinking about what people are awesome at, and wondering how I can be more awesome by improving that skill. Then, one day, I had someone put me on this pedestal to my face. They told me how awesome it was that I had my life together and was so smart. Holy taleeto, I don’t know a better way to freak a college student out than by telling them they have their life together! The truth is, I am human, and am therefore no more awesome than you.

What does it mean that I am human? It means I may be smart, but I fail tests (I mean have you ever tried your hand at biochemistry?). I need friends and other people to rely on, and to rely on me. To be human means that I may have a plan for my life in the long run but I probably don’t know what I’m having for supper. It also means that my long term plan probably isn’t going to play out how I think it will or should. To be human means to struggle and to love. To be human also means to be inherently awesome. It is not what we do that makes us awesome, for we were born awesome!

So here’s some things to keep in mind about how awesome you are, and everyone you meet is:

  1. “God created mankind in his image; in the image of god he created them; male and female he created them. God blessed them….”Genesis 1:27-28

This is why you are awesome from before you were born. Because our God created YOU in His image. And God, well, let’s be real, He is REALLY stinkin awesome! I mean He created everything (including ice cream and chocolate) He loves us each, individually. If you need more reasons on how God is awesome, learn about some of his creation (such as bacteria…so small but very complex..)

  1. The second reason you are awesome is in the words of Dr. Suess “Today, you are you, that is truer than true, there is no one on earth that is you-er than you.”                   And that my friends makes you ridiculously awesome! The world does not need two Jessica Hartmans, it doesn’t need two Bobby Joes, or two (insert whoever you put on a pedestal here). It needs each one of us to be authentically ourselves. If we try to make it so there are multiple of the same person, then that is anything but awesome…it’s actually kind of boring.
  2. Also, keep in mind we are all human (which is part of our inherit awesomeness), but that we means that we all face the obstacles and make mistakes. Most importantly, it means we are all in this together. We all need help finding the courage to recognize our awesomeness and help others embrace their awesomeness.

So remember the good news friends, you are each awesome, without conditions. You were created in the image of an awesome God (which means you inherited His awesome genes). You are so awesome that there is only one of you, because more of you would be too much awesome for the world to handle and would take away from your individual awesomeness. Finally, you are human, so there is no pressure to earn your awesome award. You have more than 7 billion other humans to help you in this journey, all trying to embrace their awesomeness. So take courage, be you, and help others realize how awesome they are. Life is not a competition, awesomeness is not earned, after all we are human beings not human doings.

One thought on “You Are Awesome!”

Leave a Reply

